Superior city council to hold special election to fill soon-to-be vacant seat

Published: Nov. 16, 2021 at 10:52 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SUPERIOR, WI (KBJR6) -- Monday night, Superior 8th District city councilor Craig Sutherland announced he was stepping down from his position.

Tuesday night, the council decided how to fill his seat. The council will hold a special election on April 5, 2022, where 8th district residents will choose who will finish out the last year of Sutherland’s term.

Until then, the council will appoint someone to fill the seat for the next five months. The city will publish an application for interested candidates.

That application will be due December 1st. At the December 7th council meeting, each candidate will have five minutes to speak.

From there, current councilors will nominate someone. The top vote-getter will be appointed to serve until the April 2022 special election.

Outgoing Councilor Sutherland spoke to the room, supporting the decision.

“I’m going to ask that we do a special election for the 8th district in April. I wish to gain the council’s support on that. 97% of the time we agree up here. I hope we can get 100% on this one,” Sutherland said. “Thank you and thank you everyone for everything you’ve done.”

Sutherland’s resignation is effective at the end of the month. He decided to resign to focus on his family, health, and business.

In 2016, Sutherland was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, which he cited as one of his reasons for stepping down.

He said his nine year old daughter is the most important reason behind why he needs to step down. Sutherland said he’s been on the council almost half her life and now he wants to spend more time with her.

Sutherland first ran for Superior’s 8th district council seat in 2017 and has since won three additional elections, marking almost five years on the council.

Superior Mayor Jim Paine said Sutherland is the third councilor to resign in the last 20 years, while in that timeframe two mayors have resigned.

Copyright 2021 KBJR 6. All rights reserved.