Smith, Jones to be sworn into Congress - KBJR 6 Your Weather Authority: News, Weather & Sports

Smith, Jones to be sworn into Congress

Posted: Updated:

Lawmakers are headed back to Washington to start their new session, and with them comes a new face.

Minnesota's now former Lt. Gov. Tina Smith will be sworn in to the U.S. Senate Wednesday.

According to the Star Tribune, Smith will take the oath shortly after noon, ending a 24-hour period where Minnesota only had one sitting senator in Democrat Amy Klobuchar. 

This change comes as Smith replaces Al Franken, who officially resigned Tuesday after allegations of sexual misconduct. 

Smith stepped down from her Lt. Gov. post Tuesday. She now takes on the twin tasks of representing Minnesota in Washington and running for that same seat, which is on the ballot come November. 

Several other candidates have also announced they plan to run.

Also in Washington, Doug Jones will be sworn in Wednesday, and fill the seat that Jeff Sessions vacated to take on the role of U.S. Attorney General in the Trump Administration.

The Alabama Democrat won a hotly contested special election against Republican Roy Moore in December.

Powered by Frankly